Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

Reviewed By: Brittany Morgan

This book lives up to the hype! Since I was in elementary school, people have been raving about Arthur Golden’s Memoirs of A Geisha and I could not have been less interested in picking up the novel. A few weeks ago something in me changed when I selected the text to be my next audio book venture. Memoirs of A Geisha has been of the the surprise reads of 2013 and also one of the best that I have read this year.

Golden adds different layers to the story of feeling, passion and literary features. The symbolism, similes, foreshadowing and irony is top notch and elevates the story from good to great. I loved the historical aspect of it and I was able to learn new things about Japan and the life a geisha through the text. This book has something for everyone in it: romance, rivalries, extreme happiness and sadness and more.

RATING: 5 stars

Leave a Reply

